Home » Bible » Quote day, Friday: C.S. Lewis

Quote day, Friday: C.S. Lewis

 “If I discover within myself a desire which no    experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world”

-C.S. Lewis

This is a quote that has been on my heart for a long time, it is one of my favorite quotes. So I thought it suitable that I would use it for my first “Quote Day, Friday.”

I want to give those who do not who C.S. Lewis is, here’s a brief background. C.S. Lewis was very intelligent and devout atheist. He was a well-respected author and his work continues to be admired today (I am a big admirer). His favorite argument for being an atheist was a quote from Lucretius which states “Had God designed the world, it would not be a world so frail and faulty as we see.” Lewis finally quit fighting God and his eyes were open to a whole new world. God used Lewis’ talents and knowledge to do awesome things. If you ever get a chance to dissect some of Lewis’ writings, it’ll be well worth it.

This particular quote came to me at a point in my life when I needed it the most. I was seeking satisfaction in the experiences of the world, only to be left empty. I couldn’t understand why if I was “living my life to the fullest” (in a worldly manner) I was still felt like there was something missing. Each day was a new search to find that thing that would complete me. Then one day while I was killing time on Pinterest, I read this quote and it all made sense. It was like God telling me to stop searching because the answer cannot be found in this world.

We are literally called God’s sons and daughters, He promises that one day He will call us up to be with Him. As Christians the reason why we feel uneasy in this world is because this is not our home, it is only a temporary dwelling. Hebrews 11:14-16 talks about the people seeking a country of their own- a heavenly one, one that God prepared for them. Philippians 3:20-21 also talks about our citizenship being in heaven. To have a citizenship in heaven means to be called  members; to be apart of a body. In reference to Lucretius’ quote from the previous paragraph, yes- God made this world is frail and faulty, but this isn’t where we belong. We are foreigners in this world. When we feel like we don’t fit in here, it’s because we don’t. We can rest assure that our home is far better than anything we can ever imagine. The God that created the heavens and the earth has already arranged for our arrival. He has built for us mansions and made sure everything is in order for when we get there. When we finally leave this earth, it’ll be the greatest day ever. He will greet us saying “Welcome HOME child.”

With Love

Leave a comment